COM0011 Blog Post #3 – Do You Have a Strategy?

I’ve been trying to come up with a blog post for this week and I have to admit that I’ve been struggling with what to write about.  That’s when it hits me, I don’t have a strategy.  This is a problem, but it’s one of the reasons I’m taking this course – I need to learn how to use social media effectively and efficiently.  This is what businesses need to do as well.  With that said, this week I will explore how to set up a Social Media Strategy.

socialmediamarketingplan

  1. Set Goals  

You need to know where you are, and where you’re going so you can determine how to get there.  Without goals, you have no idea if what you’re posting is effective.

smart goal setting concept

  1. Know Your Audience

Identify_Your_Audience

– Who are your target demographics?

– What sites are they using?  This will help narrow down which sites to focus your efforts and time on

-When are they using the sites?  Timing your posts is important if you want them to be seen by all of your audience

– How are they using the sites?  This will help with your content

  1. Content

content_curation

Create content that is supporting your companies values and goals.  This could be introducing new products, posting videos on how to use your products, creating conversations around your values, post  links to articles that support your values or answering questions that your audience have, or ask your audience questions.  The possibilities are endless.  You need keep things fresh and different.  Engaging your followings can help create new ideas for more content as you are now giving them what they are asking for or talking about.  Remember to cross promote your sites as well so that you can increase your audience.

  1. Engage with Your Audience

conversation

Social Media is about being social, so engage in conversations with your audience.  Try not to push promotions on them all of the time, this can make them tune out instead of tune in.

  1. Consistency

3-branding-elements

If you have multiple sites (Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Pinterest, etc) try to keep the look similar .  Use the same logo, colours, pictures and messages.  Your delivery might be slightly different as you need to use the sites to each of their own advantages, but you want your followers to know that they have  found you.

  1. Analytics

Remember to evaluate what content is making an impact.  This will help you figure out what works and what doesn’t.  With this information you can tweak your content to fit your followers and hopefully increase your traffic.  There are a number of sites out there that can help you with your analytic: Top 10 Free Social Media Monitoring Tools

Here are some articles that I found helpful:

10 Questions to Ask When Creating a Social-Media Marketing Plan

Creating a Winning Social Media Strategy

Why Most Social Media Strategies Fail

I still need to work on my strategy for my blogs, but I do hope that I’m providing you with informative content and tips. If you have some feedback on this blog for me, please share.  If you have a topic from our lessons that you want to hear more about, please let me know and maybe it will be the focus of my next post!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year Everyone!

3 thoughts on “COM0011 Blog Post #3 – Do You Have a Strategy?

  1. I wondered the very same thing this week. My two previous blogs dealt with what I think are heavier subjects. I always try to keep it light but this week I really wanted to write about online shopping. Tis the season:). I knew I wasn’t being consistent with my previous material or what would be a target audience so I felt unsure about it but as I said, I really wanted to!!
    I realised my tone is what is consistent, or at least I think it is and I’m really happy with it.
    This article made me think about my strategy even more. I appreciate the way you listed the steps. I will use these moving forward as part of my strategy when planning my blog post.

  2. I struggle with my blog topics too! I swear I think about it for the two weeks leading up to the due date and even toss and turn in bed. I think I need a strategy too. I am going to go back to this post when I write my next Blog or maybe I’ll just wait and make a decision at the last minute. It seems I make decisions and work the best when under pressure. So terrible for my stress level but it gives me good results!!! What ever works 🙂

    • Even after writing this blog I still don’t have a clear strategy either. Maybe it’s a school thing as I seem to leave all my assignments till the due date to actually put pen to paper! Nothing like a little stress to get the job done and to produce something useful

Leave a Reply

