COMM0014 Blog #1: What I did on my last vacation

I LOVE dreaming about travel! Researching and planning every aspect of my next adventure can sometimes consume me…particularly when the winters are long and cold like this one! Last year, I had the opportunity to fulfill one of my travel dreams and go to Playa del Carmen, Mexico. One half relaxation, one half sightseeing. It was definitely my idea of a perfect vacation.

The flight was seamless, our resort lived up to the website photos and Tripadvisor reviews (thank goodness!).  A highlight for both my husband, my travel companion of choice, and me was our visit to Chichen Itza (a.k.a the Mayan pyramids). It was almost surreal to stand in front of something I learned about as a kid, and had read about in numerous magazines. We toured the pyramids with a dozen other eager travelers, using a highly recommended local tour operator. Touring this historical site with such a small group really made the experience more intimate, as our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and available to answer any of our questions.

Aside from the pyramids, we also had the chance to visit a cenote and even spent some time in a colonial village. The natural beauty of the cenote, and new tastes discovered at the village (believe it or not, corn flavoured ice cream is delicious!!!) were the cherry topping to the most memorable day.

When we weren’t exploring ancient ruins or enjoying delicious Mexican dishes, we were relaxing by the absolutely beautiful ocean. Seven days of postcard perfect bliss. Sigh! I miss my vacation already!

One thing I learnt during this trip is that research does really pay off. If it weren’t for my hours of reading various travel reviews, my trip would not have been the success that it was.

It’s time for me to start dreaming about my next trip. South America? Europe? Maybe a cruise! Do any of you have any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

