COM0014: POST 1 – What I did on my Vacation

This past July I went to Kelowna British Columbia for the first time with my boyfriend. Friends of ours were getting married and invited us to spend some time with them beforehand. We tried new things (elk jerky.. yuck!),  made new lifelong friends and took in some of Canada’s most beautiful landscapes.

Some of the memorable experiences we had were wine tasting at Greata Ranch in Peachland. We were told when visiting the Okanogan a winery is a must! Sure enough the wine was delicious and the view absolutely breathtaking!  http://www.greataranchwinery.com/

 Image

I highly recommend if you are ever in Peachland BC to go to Parrot Island. It is a sanctuary for abandoned and abused exotic birds and the 6$ admission goes towards their care. Unfortunately we got there just as they were closing for the day but got to chat with one of the owners.

One of the beautiful landscapes we saw was from the top of Knox Mountain overseeing all of Kelowna. I have never witnessed anything so beautiful in my lifetime.  The vast mountains and bodies of water made me feel so little in such an enormous world!

 Image
Image

Although I experienced a lot of new exciting things, there is one memorable part of the trip I will carry with me for the rest of my life. It wasn’t a physical experience but much more of an emotional one. The groom’s father was diagnosed with Sarcoma, also known as Terry Fox cancer, a few years back. They were unsure if he would make it to the wedding but thankfully he did and was even able to dance with the bride. He said “as most of you know, we were unsure if I would be here today…” the thought of that alone was devastating.  His speech brought tears to all and reminded us of how precious life really is.

Throughout the trip he always had a smile on his face even when you could tell he was in a lot of pain. He had a bag of pain medication inside his body that would release with the click of a small remote control. His strength and will to live reminded those around him to never take anything in life for granted and to make the most of the time you are given.

My boyfriend and I have decided we are without a doubt going back to British Columbia this summer. We were quite busy with the wedding for most of the trip and only got a bit of sightseeing in. Does anyone have any recommendations on where to go or things to do in Kelowna?

One thought on “COM0014: POST 1 – What I did on my Vacation

  1. That sounds like a very memorable trip! The Okanagan Valley is absolutely gorgeous, and the fresh produce in the summer is everywhere, and so delicious. I remember stopping at a farm stand on the side of the road overlooking Lake Okanagan, and having fresh corn on the cob that they were cooking right there. Yum! If you have the time, it’s worth it to fly to Calgary, and then drive through the Rockies to Vancouver. If not, maybe a wine tour through the Okanagan.

Leave a Reply

